Scotiabank Ottawa Marathon: Start list and runners to watch

May 18, 2017 – OTTAWA – Organizers of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Gold label 2017 Scotiabank Ottawa Marathon are expecting another hotly contested race on Sunday, May 28, 2017.

Three-time Commonwealth champion Ugandan Moses Kipsiro is expected to do very well. The 30 year-old is the first Ugandan to race in Ottawa. Others to watch include Ethiopians Sisay Jisa (PB 2:06:27) and Seboka Dibaba (PB 2:06:17), as well as last year’s 3rd place finisher Dominic Ondoro (PB 2:08) of Kenya.

On the women’s side, Koren Jelela, the current Canadian-soil record holder (2:22:43) will be at the start line for the third year hoping improve on last year’s 2:27:09 winning time. Her compatriots Aberu Mekuria, the 2015 Scotiabank Ottawa Marathon champion, and Guteni Imana (PB: 2:23:32) will join her, making it very likely Ethiopians will sweep the race, as they did last year.

Canadians to watch at the Scotiabank Ottawa Marathon include 30 year-old Dayna Pidhoresky from Vancouver who won the Victoria Colonist 10K on April 30 with a time of 33:42, and 30 year-old Kimba Djado Abdul Aziz from Longueil, Quebec.

This year’s Scotiabank Ottawa Marathon is also the host of the 49th International Military Sports Council (CISM) World Military Marathon Championship (WMMC). Over 100 military athletes from 22 member nations will be taking to the streets of Ottawa for the title of WMMC champion.

The 43rd Scotiabank Ottawa Marathon will take place Sunday, May 29 at 7:00 a.m. (ET). The race will be broadcast live on

Background information: